Legal Question in Traffic Law in New Jersey


I appreciate the help. I sold my car a month ago to a guy from new york. He bought it, paid for it, we signed a bill of sale and title and he took them. He said he would be back to get the car once he got it registered at the NY dmv and got plates and stuff so he could drive it. I saw no problem with that so i said fine i can leave the car parked here for a few more days until you come back. Now he hasnt come back, he doesnt answer my calls or text messages. The police says im still liable for the car since i left it parked on the street and i got a ticket for it. I had returned the plates and told the dmv i sold the car but still get ticketed for it :( what should i do? Thank you so much.

Asked on 10/20/15, 4:59 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Allan Marain Law Offices of Allan Marain

The penalties for abandoning a motor vehicle are severe. See .

The facts that you describe give you a defense. You need a lawyer. See .


Read more
Answered on 10/21/15, 7:31 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in New Jersey