Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in New York

Hello, I am a single mom married to someone who is incarcerated. They owe someone 8k and that person wants to make me responsible for that money. In the beginning when my husband was first incarcerated I told said person that I would do everything in my power to get him paid back but I can no longer pay that and won’t be able to pay that as I have a 1 year old. I understand I Can be served with a small court order but will this hold up in court?

Asked on 8/10/23, 4:22 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

No. It is not your debt.

Read more
Answered on 8/10/23, 5:21 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in New York