Legal Question in Family Law in New York

In a temporary order through the courts for visitation with other parent. Can your 8 year old child voice what he or she wants? If he or she does not want to visit do you have to force them to go if they are staying they do not feel safe by themselves and they do not want to visit? What happens if you don't show for the visit due to the child not wanting to go?

Asked on 3/29/24, 7:18 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Howard Knispel Howard E. Knispel, P.C.

An 8 year old is too young to make that decision. As the custodial parent you have an obligation to do everything possible to comply with the order.

Read more
Answered on 3/30/24, 5:28 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in New York