Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

I own a home that I bought in 2001. My name is the only name on the deed and mortgage. I married my second wife in 2016, who I live with with our two year old daughter. My financial situation is getting bad. I'm depleting my emergency fund to pay my bills. At the current burn rate, I will be out of liquid funds probably in a year, unless I liquidate my IRA, which is out of the question. My wife doesn't believe me or care about my financial problems. But before I start missing mortgage payments and ruining my credit, I would sell my house first. Is there any legal reason I couldn't sell my house without my wife's permission?

Asked on 12/22/19, 8:37 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.


Read more
Answered on 12/22/19, 8:39 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York