California  |  Immigration Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/07/09, 8:26 pm

I was born in England so I am a British Citizen by birth. I became an American citizen (naturalized) in 1999 and I have both an American Passport and a British Passport. I just renewed my American passport and my question is can I renew my British passport too? Britain says I can renew it but to check with my other country of citizenship as it may endanger my other citizenship.

3 Answers


Answered on: 8/07/09, 8:46 pm by Andrew Harrell

A number of Supreme Crt. decisions have established the ability of Americans such as yourself (and me too) to have dual citizenships. This was not always the case. You should be okay renewing the British passport.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


W. Andrew Harrell, Attorney at Law 250 Pacific Ave., Suite 407 Long Beach, CA 90802

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/07/09, 9:18 pm by David Nachman

Our understanding is that you should not have a problem with this. The DOS deals with rules about dual citizenship. You can obtain white papers in this regard at travel.state.gov. You can also get more information in this regard at our office's website at www.visaserve.com.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nachman & Associates, P.C. VISASERVE PLAZA Ridgewood, NJ 07450

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/08/09, 4:03 pm by Alice Yardum-Hunter

The U.S. condones dual citizenship as a proposition; it doesn't prohibit it. This notion is applicable to maintaining that citizenship, like through renewal of a passport.

You should be fine.

If you have any questions, check me out at http://www.yardum-hunter.com, phone at 818 609 1953 or email me at alice@yardum-hunter.com. Until then, please don't rely on this as legal advice.

Alice M. Yardum-Hunter, Attorney at Law, Certified Specialist, Immigration & Nationality Law, State Bar of CA, Bd. of Legal Specialization

A “Super Lawyer” 2004 – 2009, Los Angeles Magazine


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Alice M. Yardum-Hunter, a Law Corp. 15233 Ventura Blvd., Suite 420 Sherman Oaks, CA 91403

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search