Legal Question in Immigration Law in California

This question is for a friend: Will credit card bankruptcy deny U.S. citizenship? My friend has to apply for US Citizenship. But, one credit card company messed up the credit, to the point that my friend was not able to make payments. My friend wants to know if filing for credit card bankruptcy will affect negatively US Citizenship, or deny citizenship because of bankruptcy.

Asked on 4/03/13, 11:16 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Marlene Hemmings Marlene Hemmings, Attorney at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No. As long as there is no fraud involved, it is completely irrelevant to any immigration benefit.

Read more
4/04/13, 8:30 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8804 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now