California  |  Employment Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/22/13, 9:01 am

How long after you leave a company, do they have to pay you.

3 Answers


Answered on: 8/22/13, 9:09 am by Timothy McCormick

If you give notice, on your last day of work. If you quit without notice, 72 hours. They owe you an additional day's pay for each day late, up to 30 days. The state Division of Labor Standards Enforcement can handle a claim against your former employer if they have not paid you.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 201 Spear St., Suite 1100 San Francisco, CA 94105

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/22/13, 9:18 am by Kristine Karila

Your wages, including earned and unused vacation or PTO must be paid on your last day if you provided at least 72 hours' notice. If you didn't provide that much notice - within 72 hours. If your wages are willfilly withheld, you can get up to 30 day's pay for having to wait PLUS the law requires your former employer to pay your attorney's fees. An attorney can write a demand letter to get you paid plus her/his fee.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Kristine S. Karila 9891 Irvine Center Dr., Ste. 200 Irvine, CA 92618

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/22/13, 10:14 am by John Laurie

I agree with the above.

www.gertzandlaurie.com

818 345-0123


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gertz and Laurie 18321 Ventura Boulevard Suite 900 Tarzana, CA 91356

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search