Legal Question in Employment Law in California

How long after you leave a company, do they have to pay you.

Asked on 8/22/13, 9:01 am

3 Answers from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If you give notice, on your last day of work. If you quit without notice, 72 hours. They owe you an additional day's pay for each day late, up to 30 days. The state Division of Labor Standards Enforcement can handle a claim against your former employer if they have not paid you.

Read more
8/22/13, 9:09 am
Kristine Karila Law Office of Kristine S. Karila
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Your wages, including earned and unused vacation or PTO must be paid on your last day if you provided at least 72 hours' notice. If you didn't provide that much notice - within 72 hours. If your wages are willfilly withheld, you can get up to 30 day's pay for having to wait PLUS the law requires your former employer to pay your attorney's fees. An attorney can write a demand letter to get you paid plus her/his fee.

Read more
8/22/13, 9:18 am
John Laurie Gertz and Laurie
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I agree with the above.

www.gertzandlaurie.com

818 345-0123

Read more
8/22/13, 10:14 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8805 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now