California | Employment Law
Legal Question
I work as a pinsetter technician (mechanic) at a bowling alley. For almost three years I've had to work continuous 8 1/2 hour shifts without being relieved and frequently get docked the half hour overtime. I've brought this up to multiple supervisor's and they either assure me it will be corrected or that they don't have the budget for the overlap. I was even told by my boss that I had signed something which allowed them to work me through my lunch. I spoke with the general manager of the center in June, had her pull up the DOL page on rest periods, yet the practice has continued. There are also other factors that may or may not play into this that I would also like to discuss. I have on me schedules of the past 18 months or so, but could easily get the rest of the information. If this seems like something that would be able to be settled in (or out) of court please let me know what actions I should take or if we could set up a consultation. Thanks in advance and please don't hesitate to ask if you need more info.


