a cousin of mine has been charged with a first dui offence and his court date is set for May 14th 2010. His drivers licence was taken from him and he has been given a provisional license.
What kind of sentence is he most likely to receive?
1 Answer from Attorneys
In Nevada -
His exposure is a jail sentence of up to 6 months in county jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000.00.
Also, court fees and costs.
He will have to attend a DUI course and depending on his blood alcohol level he may have to be evaluated by a professional drug and alcohol abuse counselor before he can legally be sentenced.
Finally he will have to attend a victim of drunk driving impact statement.
He will have a DUI on his permanent record and if he is subsequently convicted of another DUI within seven years he faces harshers penalties.
Bottom line he should have a Nevada attorney review the facts of his case to help him establish a defense in an effort to avoid the DUI and the subsequent sentencing all together.
I am available for a consultation if he is interested to discuss further. My main office line is 702-547-3944. Good luck!
Related Questions & Answers
DUI Complaint My husband was picked up for a DUI back in December of 2008. When he... Asked 7/13/09, 11:30 am in United States Nevada Drunk Driving & DUI Law
1st off. Dui My husband got a dui about 3 months ago, we went to court, but they... Asked 7/01/09, 1:09 pm in United States Nevada Drunk Driving & DUI Law
Dui drugs 1st discoverey how do i file for a request 4 diccovery without an attorney? Asked 4/06/09, 3:49 pm in United States Nevada Drunk Driving & DUI Law
Dui arrest 2 part question. I am going to trial tomorrow and have not even been able... Asked 2/10/09, 1:40 pm in United States Nevada Drunk Driving & DUI Law
First offense dui i am just wondering what is the worst that can happen to me when i... Asked 2/03/09, 3:48 pm in United States Nevada Drunk Driving & DUI Law