New York  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/20/10, 1:04 pm

i have a drug charge from 6 years ago and now they want to put me in jail can they do that

3 Answers


Answered on: 8/25/10, 1:55 pm by Stuart Austin

It depends on what the status of the case has been for the previous time frame. The statute of limitations on state felonies is 5 yrs ( some exceptions apply). If the case has been filed, it would fall under CPL 30.30 or Constitutional speedy trial. Please feel free to call if you have further questions.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Austin Law Associates, PC 170 Old Country Road, Suite 610 Mineola, NY 11501

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/25/10, 3:34 pm by peter bark

I need more information. Is this a probation violation? Did you disappear for a few years? I need to know what has been happening the last six years.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


bark & karpf 26 Court Street, Suite 2610 Brooklyn, NY 11242

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/26/10, 10:08 am by Carlos Gonzalez

Have you been charged before now? If you have not the statute of limitations on a felony charge is generally only five years, and as a result an attorney cooed move to dismiss your case if the charges are new.

If they are not new charges, then the age if the case itself coukd be used beneficially in your defense and ptoentially a motion for dismissal for violatio of speedy trial grounds may be viable.

If you are interested in retaining an attorney to assist you contact our office at 212-405-2234


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gonzalez Law Associates P.C. 380 Lexington Avenue, 17th Floor New York, NY 10168

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

81 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search