Legal Question in Discrimination Law in New York

I have a situation. I am a black female living in a 99.9 Asian building in Flushing, NY. I received a letter today stating that I have till April 15th to move out. I always pay my rent and I am current. My rent is not due until April 24th, The letter indicates that the Landlord can only have his family or close relative in the apartment if he is not in it. He is not suppose to sublet. I rented the apartment in August 2011 and since then I have been harassed by other tenants because I am different. But it didn't bother me much because I like the area. Now the Board got involved, and they need me to leave in 10 days. I can't get up and leave in 10 days. What can I do to protect myself? Please help.

Asked on 4/04/12, 6:20 pm

2 Answer from Attorneys

Jason Stern Law Offices of Jason Stern
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

This sounds highly unusual and most likely is illegal. Please contact my office to discuss the matter further.

Read more
Answered on 4/05/12, 7:29 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Other Discrimination Law (Age, Race, Sex, Gender) questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now