New York  |  Civil Litigation

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/02/13, 11:26 am

I'm a famous Dj and I have an impersonator who is acting like me and posing as me. He is using my name to make money.I would like to know if there is legal action I can take

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/02/13, 11:31 am by David Slater

Yes there is under the NY Civil Rights Law. The real issue is assuming you obtain a judgment, does he have assets to collect from?


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


David P. Slater, Esq. 5154 Windsor Parke Dr. Boca Raton, FL 33496

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/02/13, 12:00 pm by Roman Fichman Esq.

There are various causes of action that would protect the "persona" and 'brand' you created. The answer depends on whether you want to collect damages or whether you simply want the person to stop.

If it's the latter then a cease and desist letter from an attorney, many times, does the trick. It is also a fairly inexpensive option and many times the person responds immediately. Feel free to contact my office at your earliest convenience if you need help in this matter.

.


Roman R. Fichman, Esq.

www.TheLegalist.com │ @TheLegalist

email: Info (@) TheLegalist (dot) com

t e l : 2 1 2 -- 3 3 7 -- 9 8 3 7


Disclaimer: This post has been written for educational purposes only and was not meant to be legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice or be relied upon. No intention exists to create an attorney-client relationship or any other special relationship or privilege through this post. The post may contain errors, inaccuracies and/or omissions. You should always consult an attorney admitted to practice in your jurisdiction for specific advice. This post may be deemed as Attorney Advertising.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Practice of Roman Fichman Esq. New York Manhattan, NY 10011-1607

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/02/13, 5:33 pm by David Leon

Have you protected your business name and/or applied for trademark protection?

For more information, please visit our website:

http://leonlaw.com

Also, please read our disclaimer:

http://leonlaw.com/disclaimer/


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


David L. Leon, P.C. 3500 Oak Lawn Ave., Ste. 205 Dallas, TX 75219

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

81 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search