Legal Question in Employment Law in North Carolina

I placed notice of resignation with my employer upon receiving an Offer of Employment letter from another company. This new company then rescinded their offer after I quit my job. Now I have no job, and a 4 year old to support. Their stated reason was a pending DUI case on my driving record. While I understand the reason, an offer letter should have never been extended to me. What legal recourse do I have?

Asked on 9/12/13, 8:11 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Love Ken Love Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

See an employment attorney in your area. This is difficult as normally I would say you have claims...but if the offer was contingent upon a clean record, they have a defense.

Read more
9/13/13, 4:34 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8787 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now