Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Pennsylvania

Is it legal for a landlord/property manager to charge for electricity based on the square footage of an apartment instead of the actual usage? The complex where I live started doing that recently and tenants were not informed by the property manager or the 3rd party company that handles the billing.

The change in billing has caused some tenants electric bills to double, which in this economy is not a good thing, and it hardly seems fair.

Asked on 8/25/11, 1:05 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Brandon Benner Benner & Piperato
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

It depends what was said in the original lease. You should seek counsel. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.

Read more
8/25/11, 1:12 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Pennsylvania

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now