Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Virginia

I live in the state of Virginia. I recently moved out of a rental property where the carpet needed to be replaced due to a leak in the permanently installed cooling unit owned by the property. I am now being charged for that replacement. Am I responsible to cover the loss even though the damage was not due to anything I had done? and do I have the right to view the completed work and any related receipts?

Asked on 7/29/13, 6:43 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If this carpeting was replaced soley for the reason mentioned in your question,

then you as the former tenant should not be charged for the replacement (my opinion).

Read more
7/30/13, 7:44 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8809 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now