California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 11/04/12, 6:49 pm

is the driver of a borrowed car responceable for anything illegale found in the car

3 Answers


Answered on: 11/04/12, 7:15 pm by Elena Condes

That depends. A person is guilty of possession of drugs if they have knoeldged that the drugs are there. Possession can be actual or constructive, meaning that they have control over the area the drugs were found. So, if you didn't know the drugs were in the car you borrowed, you should be guilty of the crime of possession. You should talk to a lawyer about the specific facts of your case.

Good luck.

Elena Condes


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


LAW OFFFICE OF ELENA CONDES 1010 Grayson Street Berkeley, CA 94710

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 11/04/12, 11:30 pm by Terry A. Nelson

Responsible?

Yes, if the police and prosecutor charge you with possession while it is in your control, and if they can demonstrate you knew abIf out it. Doesn't matter who owns the vehicle, but they also could be charged. If serious about hiring counsel to help in this, and if this is in SoCal courts, feel free to contact me. Iíll be happy to help fight this and get the best outcome possible, using whatever defenses there may be.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 11/06/12, 3:43 pm by Edward Hoffman

Not automatically. But if he knows the contraband is there and doesn't do anything about it, then yes. That the driver borrowed the car proves neither that he is aware of it nor that he is not.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 11755 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1250 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search