California  |  Employment Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/08/13, 6:07 pm

I am a salaried employee. Often we are very busy that we never take our breaks during the day and we will stay later to complete projects in a timely manner. Work begins at 7am and I usually arrive between 7:00 and 7:10am. Given that no breaks are taken (lunch hour is) and we always stay late...can the employer demand we arrive at 7:00am everyday or you will be terminated?

3 Answers


Answered on: 8/08/13, 10:40 pm by John Laurie

Your employer can demand that you start at a specific time.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gertz and Laurie 18321 Ventura Boulevard Suite 900 Tarzana, CA 91356

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/08/13, 10:41 pm by Charles Perry

Yes, your employer can condition your employment on your arriving at 7:00 am.

You are also entitled to be paid overtime, however, and you are entitled to be compensated for the breaks that you are not able to take.

If you do not believe you are being compensated correctly, you should consult with a plaintiff-side labor lawyer about a potential wage-and-hour claim. Many offer a free consultation to help employees figure out what rights they have, and to help them figure out how best to protect those rights.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Charles R. Perry 1500 Bayberry Street Hollister, 95023

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/10/13, 12:12 pm by Terry A. Nelson

The employer can demand and require anything he likes regarding schedules and hours. However, if you are denied breaks, you have a legal claim for unpaid compensation, overtime, penalties and interest for that break time, and a claim for any actual time worked over 8 hours per day or 40 hours per week.

If serious about pursuing these claims, feel free to contact me.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search