Legal Question in Employment Law in California

I work for an elementary in California and hold two positions. My first position is in the morning as a teacher's assist and am consider a permanent employee. My second position is an instructor for an after school programs for kids and for this position I am not contracted. Recently I got a letter in the mail that I will no longer be needed for my second position. My question is, can I be fired/let go without any reasons at all? My end of the year evaluation with the principal was all good news. There were no complaints and my scores were all in the top range. I know it's not due to budget because there will still be the after school program next year and they are still hiring for the position.

Asked on 7/17/13, 8:11 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Terry A. Nelson Nelson & Lawless
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No 'cause' is required. They don't have to renew your contract. Your rights are defined by your contract and and Education Code.

Read more
7/23/13, 2:08 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now